Sain Records

David Lloyd - Y Llais Arian (Cyfrol 3 / Volume 3)

David Lloyd - Y Llais Arian (Cyfrol 3 / Volume 3)

The thrid volume of one of Wales’ greatest ever tenor, with 20 tracks including most of the songs he recorded in Welsh, and six tracks to orchestral accompaniment.

This is the third volume of recordings from the renowned Welsh tenor. David Lloyd was born in 1912 at Trelogan, Fflint and left school at 14 to become a carpenter’s apprentice. After competing at local Eisteddfodau, he was urged to take up singing professionally, and won a scholarship to the Guildhall in 1933. He left in 1938 as the best student in his year, and immediately made his mark in Glyndebourne and in festivals in Belgium and Denmark, and then at Sadler’s Wells.

Just as the world of opera was opening before him, he was called to join the Welsh Guards in 1940 and five years in uniform put a stop to his operatic career, but firmly established him as a concert favourite. However his recording career continued and records show that between his first test recordings at Abbey Road in 1937 and his final recording for Delyse in 1963, David Lloyd recorded close on 80 items.
This volume starts with a re-discovered track from 1940 but otherwise contains recordings made between 1947 and 1962, and includes the period of his enforced absence from the concert stage due to a serious accident he sustained in 1954. He made a comeback at the Llangollen International Eisteddfod in 1960 and the last seven tracks on this album were recorded between then and 1962. An important feature on this compilation is that it contains tracks where David Lloyd sings to the accompaniment of an orchestra with the remaining tracks to the accompaniment of piano and organ.

David Lloyd died in 1969, aged 57, and there has never been a singer in Wales who has captured the nation’s adulation and imagination quite like him. However, this series of recordings bears testimony to a voice of great beauty, of which Wales can justly feel proud.

Track Listing

  1. Come, Margerita, Come
  2. Who is Sylvia?
  3. A Dream
  4. Yr Hen Gerddor
  5. Arafa Don
  6. Lausanne
  7. Hyder
  8. Elen Fwyn
  9. Sul y Blodau
  10. The Temple Bells
  11. Less Than the Dust
  12. Till I Wake
  13. Pale Hands I Love
  14. Carol y Blwch
  15. Pwy Fydd Yma 'Mhen Can Mlynedd?
  16. My Little Welsh Home
  17. Art Thou Troubled?
  18. Pa Le Mae'r Amen?
  19. Dacw'r Ardal, Dacw'r Hafan
  20. Cartref

Download Only

  • Product ID : Sain SCD2128
  • Label: Sain
  • Genre: Classical
  • Format: Album
  • Released: 2001



My Basket

Items : 0 | Value : £0.00

Twitter @Sainrecords