Sain Records

Tenoriaid Cymru / The Great Tenors of Wales

Various Artists - Tenoriaid Cymru / The Great Tenors of Wales

The second great album of Wales’ leading tenors from David Lloyd to Gwyn Hughes Jones.

From the vast treasury of Welsh tenor recordings, eighteen of the best were selected for this compilation, professional and amateur alike, from all parts of Wales. The wide range of musical styles is matched by the wide span of time over which the original recordings were made. The earliest is a historic BBC recording of David Lloyd singing before a live audience to orchestral accompaniment in 1958 – and this is the first time it is available on record. The latest is a 1996 studio recording of the young talented tenor from Anglesey, Gwyn Hughes Jones.

Track Listing

  1. Llanrwst - Gwyn Hughes Jones
  2. Hen Groesffordd y Llan - Dai Jones
  3. Pa Le mae'r Amen? - Wynford Evans
  4. Bronwen - John Eifion
  5. Yr Eos - Stuart Burrows
  6. Tosturi Duw - Trebor Edwards
  7. Mentra Gwen - D. Eifion Thomas
  8. Dim ond Iesu - Timothy Evans
  9. Y Cynhaeaf - Dafydd Edwards
  10. Cartrefi Gwynion Cymru - Richie Thomas
  11. Luned Fwyn o Lyn - Geraint Dodd
  12. Y Deryn Pur - Dennis O'Neill
  13. Gwalia Annwyl - Washington James
  14. Carol y Blwch - David Lloyd
  15. Unwaith Eto 'Nghymru Annwyl - Paul Williams
  16. Dim Ond - Arthur Davies
  17. Dafydd y Garreg Wen - Teifryn Rees
  18. Cwm Pennant - Kenneth Bowen

In Stock
£5.99 £12.98

  • Product ID : Sain SCD2129
  • Label: Sain
  • Genre: Classical
  • Format: Compilation
  • Released: 1996



My Basket

Items : 0 | Value : £0.00

Twitter @Sainrecords