Sain Records

Nath Trevett - Cariad Neu Ddicter

Nath Trevett - Cariad Neu Ddicter

Nath is a guitarist, lutenist and a Quaker who arranges Welsh folk songs, religious songs, songs in other languages and sometimes instrumentals.
Nath was born in Bristol in 1986 and raised in Llantrisant from the age of 4. He began to learn the guitar when he was 7, and his interest in folk music started to grow when he was a teenager. Nath studied at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama in Cardiff, where he also learned to play the lute alongside his principal study – the classical guitar – and before graduation, he submitted a portfolio of his own folk arrangements (of tunes which range from Welsh, Scottish and Irish) in place of a dissertation.
His biggest influences include artists such as Martin Simpson, Mark Knopfler, Richard Thompson, Dick Gaughan, Davy Graham and Bert Jansch, and since his college days Nath has been arranging folk music of different styles but has focussed mainly on Welsh material as well as Gaelic and German songs.
He has performed at numerous venues ranging from open microphone nights, folk clubs and events, to charity concerts and Quaker gatherings. Nath has also performed in Sweden and recently in Pendle Hill, America, the Rochester Sweeps festival and at Leigh Folk Festival.
He has played with the band ‘Gwas y Neidr’ at the Acapela studio, where their CD “Ymlaen” was launched, at the National Eisteddfod in the Cytun tent, where they played arrangements of hymns, the Maes G tents, and numerous Folk Festivals – the Fishguard Folk Festival, Folk on the Lawn in Chepstow, and Cwlwm Celtaidd in Porthcawl.
Nath speaks openly about his Asperger Syndrome and a portion of the profit from the sale of the CD will be donated to the Asperger Syndrome Foundation (Registered Charity No: 1090785)

Track Listing

  1. Preludium
  2. Stori
  3. Bugeilio'r Gwenith Gwyn
  4. Y March Glas
  5. Marwnad yr Ehedydd
  6. Cân Felan Pryder
  7. Myfanwy
  8. Nyth y Gwcw
  9. Aberystwyth
  10. Mo Ghile Mear
  11. Y Cardotyn
  • Product ID : Tryfan CD492
  • Label: Sain
  • Genre: Folk
  • Format: Album
  • Released: 2015



My Basket

Items : 0 | Value : £0.00

Twitter @Sainrecords